DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Meeting Gorbachev


Meeting Gorbachev


CATALOGUE TEXT
In terms of realpolitik, these meetings between Mikhail Gorbachev and Werner Herzog might well be termed a summit. And the meetings between the filmmaker and the former leader of the Soviet Union were indeed prepared and executed like summit meetings. Werner Herzog, André Singer and their crew visited the initiator of glasnost and perestroika in his absolute seclusion near Moscow three times over a period of six months.

It’s the first time that Herzog focuses so directly on a politician, though he makes no bones about his admiration for the now 87-year-old statesman and Nobel Peace Prize winner. By the same token, it’s a first for Mikhail Gorbachev, too, to let himself be questioned by an artist who avowedly is looking for a sound that’s different from what a professional journalist wants to hear and provoke. In his latest documentary, Herzog follows significant stations of Gorbachev’s political and personal career on a new quest for ecstatic moments behind factual truths.

Ralph Eue

/

/

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Meeting Gorbachev
Country: UK, USA, Germany
Year: 2018
Language: English, German, Polish, Russian
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 91 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Werner Herzog, André Singer
Producer: Lucki Stipetić, Svetlana Palmer
Cinematographer: Yuriy Burak, Richard Blanshard
Editor: Michael Ellis
Music: Nicholas Singer
Sound: Vladimir Rizun, Vasiliy Amochkin, Simon Bishop, Alexander Kuckuck
Script: Werner Herzog
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Meeting Gorbachev


Meeting Gorbachev


KATALOGTEXT
Im Zusammenhang von Realpolitik würden diese Begegnungen zwischen Michail Gorbatschow und Werner Herzog wohl Gipfeltreffen genannt werden. Und wie Gipfeltreffen sind die Begegnungen zwischen dem Filmemacher und dem ehemaligen Staatspräsidenten der Sowjetunion auch vorbereitet und durchgeführt worden. Über einen Zeitraum von sechs Monaten besuchte das Filmteam um Werner Herzog und André Singer den Initiator von Glasnost und Perestroika dreimal in dessen absoluter Zurückgezogenheit bei Moskau.

Es ist das erste Mal, dass sich Herzog in solcher Direktheit einem Politiker zuwendet, wobei er keinen Moment seine Bewunderung für den heute 87-jährigen Staatsmann und Friedensnobelpreisträger verhehlt. Umgekehrt ist es auch für Michail Gorbatschow eine Premiere, sich in dieser Ausführlichkeit von einem Künstler befragen zu lassen, der erklärtermaßen einen Sound im Sinn hat, der sich von dem, was ein professioneller Journalist hören und erzeugen möchte, unterscheidet. Entlang markanter Stationen in Gorbatschows politischer und persönlicher Karriere macht sich Herzog auch mit seinem neuesten Dokumentarfilm auf die Suche nach ekstatischen Momenten hinter faktischen Wahrheiten.

Ralph Eue
/ / /
/ / /
/
/
/ / /
Kaufen
#000 Screening Code
Credits
Originaltitel: Meeting Gorbachev
Land: UK, USA, Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch, englisch, polnisch, russisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 91 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Werner Herzog, André Singer
Produktion: Lucki Stipetić, Svetlana Palmer
Kamera: Yuriy Burak, Richard Blanshard
Schnitt: Michael Ellis
Musik: Nicholas Singer
Ton: Vladimir Rizun, Vasiliy Amochkin, Simon Bishop, Alexander Kuckuck
Buch: Werner Herzog
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.