DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Touch Me Not


Touch Me Not


CATALOGUE TEXT
The Einstürzende Neubauten are playing “Mela-Mela-Melancholia”, questioning the state of the nation. Between the somnambulistic scenes played out in the border area between documentary and fiction, deep-seated intimacies that concern us all are addressed. The project – the winner of this year’s Golden Bear – is experimental: many of the protagonists are “real”, play themselves; others, like Laura Benson and her fellow actor Tómas Lemarquis, pick up on scripted sketches but let their roles come so close that they penetrate their own lives. They talk about and perform sex, about inhibitions and visions, fears and ways to overcome them. Their goal, the goal of this unusual film: (self) liberation.

The director enters the frame occasionally, sits on the couch with Christian Bayerlein, the “kissability” blogger, or with the transsexual Hanna Hofmann, letting us know that she is taking part, looking at things but resisting voyeurism as the camera floats above a group BDSM session or follows a touch therapy workshop, some of whose participants are physically severely disabled, at close range. She speaks, too, about her own boundaries of shame, far removed from the “Likes”-obsessed narcissistic Social Media egos. A transgressive critique of norms, aesthetically and politically correct (which is a good thing). And extremely bold into the bargain.

Barbara Wurm

/
Credits
Original Title: Touch Me Not
Country: Romania, Germany, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, France
Year: 2018
Language: English
Subtitle: German
Runtime: 123 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Adina Pintilie
Producer: Bianca Oana, Philippe Avril, Adina Pintilie
Cinematographer: George Chiper-Lillemark
Editor: Adina Pintilie
Music: Ivo Paunov
Sound: Veselin Zografov, Dominik Dolejší, Marek Poledna
Script: Adina Pintilie
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Touch Me Not


Touch Me Not


KATALOGTEXT
Die Einstürzenden Neubauten tönen „Mela-Mela-Melancholia“ und hinterfragen die Befindlichkeit des Landes. Zwischen den Szenen, die traumwandlerisch den Grenzbereich von Dokumentarismus und Fiktion betreten, werden tief liegende Intimitäten behandelt, die uns alle betreffen. Das Projekt – diesjähriger Gewinner des Goldenen Bären – ist experimentell: Viele der Protagonistinnen und Protagonisten sind „real“, spielen sich selbst, andere wie Laura Benson und ihr Schauspielerkollege Tómas Lemarquis greifen Drehbuchskizzen auf, lassen die Rollen aber so nah auf sich zukommen, dass sie in eigenes Leben dringen. Sie sprechen von Sex und performen ihn, von Hemmungen und Visionen, von Ängsten und Überwindungsformen. Ihr Ziel – Ziel dieses ungewöhnlichen Films: (Selbst-)Befreiung.

Gelegentlich tritt die Regisseurin ins Bild, setzt sich auf die Couch, zu Christian Bayerlein, dem „kissability“-Blogger, oder zur transsexuellen Hanna Hofmann. So weiß man, dass sie dabei ist und hinsehend dem Voyeurismus trotzt, wenn die Kamera über eine Gruppen-BDSM-Session schwebt oder fast hautnah den Touch-Therapie-Workshop mit teilweise körperlich schwerbehinderten Menschen verfolgt. Sie selbst spricht auch, über ihre eigenen Schamgrenzen, weit weg vom Like-Wahn narzisstischer Social-Network-Egos. Eine transgressive Normkritik, ästhetisch und politisch korrekt (und das ist gut). Und absolut gewagt obendrein.

Barbara Wurm

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Touch Me Not
Land: Rumänien, Deutschland, Tschechische Republik, Bulgarien, Frankreich
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: englisch
Untertitel: deutsch
Laufzeit: 123 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Adina Pintilie
Produktion: Bianca Oana, Philippe Avril, Adina Pintilie
Kamera: George Chiper-Lillemark
Schnitt: Adina Pintilie
Musik: Ivo Paunov
Ton: Veselin Zografov, Dominik Dolejší, Marek Poledna
Buch: Adina Pintilie
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.