DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

#Female Pleasure


#Female Pleasure


CATALOGUE TEXT
Women are subordinate to men. They are born sinful and have no legal claim to their own body. Misogyny is more than a phenomenon observed across continental divides all over the world and in some cases the cause of abuse and crime. It is structurally inscribed – literally – into the core of all social systems founded on religious beliefs. In the bible, for example, we read: “I find woman more bitter than Death […] The man who is pleasing to God eludes her.”

In this lucid film, which takes a global perspective, five female protagonists talk about misogynistic behaviour they experienced, hostilities they were exposed to, crimes committed against them. Rokudenashiko, a Japanese artist, is on trial for the obscenity of her art. Deborah Feldman escaped with her son from a Hassidic community in Brooklyn, leaving her husband to whom she was forcibly married. Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner and Vithika Yadav talk about rape and mutilation, lack of legal protection, homophobia, shame and the strange feeling that one’s sexuality and body are associated with sin from birth.

Lukas Stern

/
Credits
Original Title: #Female Pleasure
Country: Switzerland, Germany
Year: 2018
Language: English, German, Japanese
Subtitle: German
Runtime: 97 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Barbara Miller
Producer: Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Cinematographer: Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Editor: Isabel Meier
Music: Peter Scherer
Sound: Tom Weber
Script: Barbara Miller
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

#Female Pleasure


#Female Pleasure


KATALOGTEXT
Frauen sind dem Mann untergeordnet. Sie sind von Geburt an sündig und haben keinen Rechtsanspruch auf den eigenen Körper. Misogynie ist nicht nur ein Phänomen, das über kontinentale Grenzen hinweg überall auf der Welt auftritt und in Einzelfällen zu Missbrauch und Verbrechen führt. Sie ist strukturell in die kulturellen Kerne sämtlicher religiös fundierter Gesellschaftssysteme eingeschrieben – und zwar wortwörtlich. In der Bibel heißt es etwa: „Bitterer als der Tod ist die Frau […]. Wer Gott gefällt, der wird ihr entrinnen.“

Fünf Protagonistinnen erzählen in diesem klarsichtigen und global perspektivierten Film von den frauenfeindlichen Erfahrungen, die sie gemacht haben, von den Anfeindungen, denen sie ausgesetzt waren, von den Verbrechen, die an ihnen begangen wurden. Rokudenashiko, eine japanische Künstlerin, steht wegen der Obszönität ihrer Kunst vor Gericht. Deborah Feldman brach gemeinsam mit ihrem Sohn aus ihrer chassidischen Gemeinde in Brooklyn aus und trennte sich so auch von ihrem Mann, mit dem sie zwangsverheiratet wurde. Außerdem berichten Leyla Hussein, Doris Wagner und Vithika Yadav von Vergewaltigung und Verstümmelung, von fehlendem Rechtsschutz, von Homophobie, von Scham und von dem fremdartigen Gefühl, dass die eigene Sexualität und der eigene Körper von Geburt an mit Schuld verknüpft sind.

Lukas Stern

/
Credits
Originaltitel: #Female Pleasure
Land: Schweiz, Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch, englisch, japanisch
Untertitel: deutsch
Laufzeit: 97 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Barbara Miller
Produktion: Philip Delaquis, Arek Gielnik
Kamera: Anne Misselwitz, Gabriela Betschart, Akiba Jiro
Schnitt: Isabel Meier
Musik: Peter Scherer
Ton: Tom Weber
Buch: Barbara Miller
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.