DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Living the Light – Robby Müller


Living the Light – Robby Müller


CATALOGUE TEXT
Robby Müller (1940–2018) was a luminary, but not in the way this term is commonly used. He could easily have played one of the wise and taciturn Indians in Jim Jarmusch’s Acid Western “Dead Man”. But that was impossible because he was the DOP of this film, for which he conjured his special, firm and almost painterly, but also transparent and shimmering light onto the screen, as he did for around 70 other masterpieces of international auteur cinema.

Over decades the cinematographer kept a video diary which the filmmaker Claire Pijman already worked with for the great exhibition “Master of Light” at the Amsterdam EYE Film Museum and which she now uses as the central pool of images for her own film, “Living the Light”. Fellow cinematographer Agnès Godard says about a sequence between Dennis Hopper and Nicholas Ray from Wim Wenders’ “The American Friend” that mastership for her is achieved only when the grandeur of the cinematography makes itself vanish from a scene because it becomes its natural component. Strange that one always feels that one can almost hear Robby Müller’s images. In “Living the Light”, this impression is underlined by delicately improvised soundscapes by Jim Jarmusch and Carter Logan.

Ralph Eue


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize


/

/
Credits
Original Title: Living the Light – Robby Müller
Country: Netherlands, Germany
Year: 2018
Language: Dutch, English, French, German
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 87 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Claire Pijman
Producer: Carolijn Borgdorff, Alexander Wadouh, Sven Sauër
Cinematographer: Claire Pijman
Editor: Katharina Wartena
Music: SQÜRL (Jim Jarmusch, Carter Logan)
Script: Claire Pijman
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Living the Light – Robby Müller


Living the Light – Robby Müller


KATALOGTEXT
Robby Müller (1940–2018) war eine Lichtgestalt, nur anders, als man dieses Wort gemeinhin versteht. Er hätte gut einen der weisen und wortkargen Indianer in Jim Jarmuschs Spätwestern „Dead Man“ darstellen können. Das ging nur nicht, weil er für diesen Film als Director of Photography fungierte und dort wie in rund 70 anderen Meisterwerken des internationalen Autorenkinos sein spezielles, einerseits fest und wie gemalt, aber zugleich durchscheinend und flirrend sich gebendes Licht auf die Leinwand zauberte.

Über Jahrzehnte führte der Kameramann ein Videotagebuch, das die Filmemacherin Claire Pijman bereits für die große Ausstellung „Master of Light“ im Amsterdamer Filmmuseum EYE aufarbeitete und welches sie nun in ihrem eigenen Film „Living the Light“ als zentralen Bildfundus nutzt. Über einer Sequenz zwischen Dennis Hopper und Nicholas Ray aus Wim Wenders’ „Der amerikanische Freund“ erzählt die Kamerakollegin Agnès Godard, dass Meisterschaft für sie erst darin zum Ausdruck kommt, wenn sich die Grandezza einer Kameraarbeit in den Szenen selber zum Verschwinden gebracht hat, weil sie wie selbstverständlich darin enthalten ist. Seltsam, dass man Robby Müllers Bilder fast immer auch zu hören glaubt. In „Living the Light“ wird dieser Eindruck forciert durch fein improvisierte Soundscapes von Jim Jarmusch und Carter Logan.

Ralph Eue


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts


/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Living the Light – Robby Müller
Land: Niederlande, Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch, englisch, französisch, niederländisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 87 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Claire Pijman
Produktion: Carolijn Borgdorff, Alexander Wadouh, Sven Sauër
Kamera: Claire Pijman
Schnitt: Katharina Wartena
Musik: SQÜRL (Jim Jarmusch, Carter Logan)
Buch: Claire Pijman
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.