DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

(M)Other


(M)Other


CATALOGUE TEXT
It’s quite realistic today for a child to have three mothers: an egg donor gives her genes to a baby who is born by a surrogate mother and raised by another woman or a person who may be male and gay. The classic concept of “natural” motherhood reaches its limits here (and elsewhere).

The definition of motherhood is being contested. The general controversy about changing social norms is reflected in the debate about (good) mothers. This discussion, as “(M)Other” very clearly demonstrates, concerns everybody. Both those who have to contend with stereotypes and prejudice as “classic” mothers and those who claim the term even though they do not correspond to the established “model” that stubbornly resists all obvious changes. Antonia Hungerland shows that the seemingly personal is still (or: today more than ever) highly political.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize


/

/
Credits
Original Title: (M)Other
Country: Germany
Year: 2018
Language: English, German
Subtitle: English, German
Runtime: 88 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Antonia Hungerland
Producer: Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Cinematographer: Antonia Hungerland
Editor: Antonella Sarubbi
Music: Markus Zierhofer
Sound: Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
Script: Antonia Hungerland
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

(M)Other


(M)Other


KATALOGTEXT
Heute ist es durchaus realistisch, dass ein Kind drei Mütter hat: eine Eizellenspenderin gibt einem Baby ihre Gene, das von einer Leihmutter austragen und später von einer weiteren Frau oder einer Person, die eventuell männlich und schwul ist, aufgezogen wird. Das klassische Konzept der „natürlichen“ Mutterschaft kommt hier (und anderswo) an seine Grenzen.

Die Definition von Mutterschaft ist umkämpft. In der Debatte über (gute) Mütter spiegelt sich das generelle Ringen um gesellschaftliche Normen im Wandel. Diese Diskussion, das macht „(M)Other“ sehr deutlich, betrifft alle. Sowohl jene, die als „klassische“ Mütter mit Klischees und Vorurteilen zu kämpfen haben, als auch solche, die den Begriff für sich in Anspruch nehmen, obwohl sie dem etablierten, sich stur gegen alle offensichtlichen Veränderungen behauptenden „Modell“ nicht entsprechen. Antonia Hungerland zeigt, dass das vermeintlich Private noch immer (oder: erst recht heute) hochgradig politisch ist.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Credits
Originaltitel: (M)Other
Land: Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch, englisch
Untertitel: deutsch, englisch
Laufzeit: 88 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Antonia Hungerland
Produktion: Christopher Zitterbart, Saskia Veigel, Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF
Kamera: Antonia Hungerland
Schnitt: Antonella Sarubbi
Musik: Markus Zierhofer
Ton: Tim Altrichter, Benedikt Ludwig, Christoph Walter, Luise Hofmann
Buch: Antonia Hungerland
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.