DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Lord of the Toys


Lord of the Toys




CATALOGUE TEXT
Pour the bottle of bubbly into the melon half – and down the hatch and up on your video blog it goes. The lord of the flies 2017 attracts his followers with dissolution, gadgets, smartphones. Confident, narcissistic, 24/7 on YouTube. He shares exes with brandy and gambling bouts, things that are smart or just silly enough to laugh at: keeping them on the edge of their seats, trying to be cool. For that, this little fist of the east occasionally risks Nazi terms or cyber mobbing that escalates in real life. “At least the audience likes it. They imitate it and that’s the goal.” When everyone has gone home, text messages buzz through the red dawn sky – like a shield to protect the city from a pause in communication.

Ben Yakov and his team follow a group of Dresden YouTubers – too old for puberty, no desire to be adults. They come incredibly close as they capture the high of the permanent party around Adlersson, Inkognito Spastiko and Hector Panzer, including the hangover, and have no compunctions about occasionally leaving the stage to the boys– after all, this is about their very own profession. But the skilful narrative scratches holes in the wallpaper of the ambivalent ego shows. Fortunately they use every dramaturgical trick in the book, and pop appeal, to communicate an attitude and bring everything to a grand party finale, where stereotypes are tipped … and restaged.

André Eckardt


Awarded with a Golden Dove in the German Competition Long Film
Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize and the ver.di prize for solidarity, humanitiy and fairness


/

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Lord of the Toys
Country: Germany
Year: 2018
Language: German
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 95 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Pablo Ben Yakov
Producer: Pablo Ben Yakov
Cinematographer: André Krummel
Editor: Pablo Ben Yakov, André Krummel
Artistic Assistant: Roland Scheliga
Sound: Tobias Adam, Simon Peter
Music: Kat Kaufmann
Script: Pablo Ben Yakov, André Krummel
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Lord of the Toys


Lord of the Toys




KATALOGTEXT
Die Flasche mit Schaumwein in die Melonenhälfte geschüttet und ab damit – in den Kopf und Videoblog. Der Herr der Fliegen zieht 2017 seine Jünger mit Entgrenzung, Gadgets, Smartphone an. Selbstbewusst, narzisstisch, 24/7 via Youtube. Er lässt an Goldkrone-Exen und Zocken teilhaben, an Dingen, die smart oder einfach nur zum Lachen blöde sind: in Atem halten, krass sein wollen. Das Fäustchen des Ostens riskiert dafür auch mal die Nazilippe und Cybermobbing, das im Realen eskaliert. „Es schmeckt dem Publikum jedenfalls. Und das wird auch nachgeahmt und das ist das Ziel.“ Wenn alle nach Hause gegangen sind, sirren Textmessages durch den rötlichen Morgenhimmel – wie ein Schutzschild, der die Stadt vor einer Kommunikationspause schützen will.

Ben Yakov und sein Team begleiten eine Clique von Dresdner Youtubern – zu alt für Pubertät, ohne Lust auf Erwachsensein. Unglaublich nah fangen sie den Rausch der Dauerparty um Adlersson, Inkognito Spastiko und Hector Panzer samt Hangover ein und scheuen sich nicht, den Jungs zuweilen die Bühne zu überlassen – schließlich geht es hier um deren ureigenes Metier. Doch die gekonnte Erzählung ritzt Löcher in die Tapete der ambivalenten Egoshows. Glücklicherweise greift sie nach jedem dramaturgischen Kniff, um mit Pop-Appeal ein Lebensgefühl zu vermitteln und alles zu einem grandiosen Partyfinale zu führen, wo Klischees kippen … neu inszeniert werden.

André Eckardt


Ausgezeichnet mit einer Goldenen Taube im Deutschen Wettbewerb Langfilm
Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts und den ver.di-Preis für Solidarität, Menschlichkeit und Fairness


/

/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Lord of the Toys
Land: Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 95 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Pablo Ben Yakov
Produktion: Pablo Ben Yakov
Kamera: André Krummel
Schnitt: Pablo Ben Yakov, André Krummel
Künstlerische Assistenz: Roland Scheliga
Ton: Tobias Adam, Simon Peter
Musik: Kat Kaufmann
Buch: Pablo Ben Yakov, André Krummel
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.