DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

I Had a Dream


I Had a Dream




CATALOGUE TEXT
This film is flanked by two men: Silvio Berlusconi, who in 2008 became Italian Prime Minister for the fourth time, and Donald Trump, who was sworn in as president of the United States a little less than a decade later. Manuela, a member of the Italian Parliament, and Daniela, a local politician, see this period, marked as it is by men, as the epitome of political regression. Both have spent years fighting for more sexual equality, better laws to protect women from domestic violence and a more diverse body of political decision makers.

Is politics dead? This brutal question guides Claudia Tosi’s long-term observation of the developments of the past decade in Italy. With a loss of 6.7 % of the votes, the democrats were clearly defeated by the populist and Eurosceptic Five Star Movement. Neither Manuela nor Daniela ever thought that democracy, civil solidarity and the desire for progress would one day be challenged to such an extent or that Berlusconism, which they believed was overcome, would have such pervasive after-effects.

Lukas Stern

/

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Avevo un sogno
Country: Italy, France
Year: 2018
Language: Italian
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 84 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Claudia Tosi
Producer: Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Cinematographer: Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Editor: Marco Duretti
Music: Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Sound: Diego Schiavo
Script: Claudia Tosi
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

I Had a Dream


I Had a Dream




KATALOGTEXT
Zwei Männer flankieren diesen Film: Silvio Berlusconi, der 2008 zum vierten Mal italienischer Ministerpräsident wurde, und Donald Trump, der ein knappes Jahrzehnt später als amerikanischer Präsident vereidigt wurde. Für Manuela, eine Abgeordnete des italienischen Parlaments, und Daniela, eine Lokalpolitikerin, ist dieser dergestalt männlich markierte Zeitraum der Inbegriff für den politischen Regress. Seit Jahren kämpfen die beiden für mehr Gleichberechtigung zwischen den Geschlechtern, für bessere Gesetze zum Schutz vor häuslicher Gewalt gegen Frauen und für ein diverseres Gesamtbild politischer Verantwortungsträger.

Ist die Politik tot? Diese brutale Frage leitet Claudia Tosis Langzeitstudie über die Entwicklungen des letzten italienischen Jahrzehnts an. Mit einem Verlust von 6,7 % der Stimmen unterlagen die Demokraten 2018 deutlich gegen die populistische und europaskeptische Fünf-Sterne-Bewegung. Dass Demokratie, zivilgesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt und Fortschrittswille noch einmal derart infrage stehen, dass der überwunden geglaubte Berlusconismus noch in einem solchen Ausmaß nachwirkt, hätten Manuela und Daniela nicht für möglich gehalten.

Lukas Stern

/

/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Avevo un sogno
Land: Italien, Frankreich
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: italienisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 84 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Claudia Tosi
Produktion: Claudia Tosi, Nathalie Combe
Kamera: Claudia Tosi, Andrea Gioacchini
Schnitt: Marco Duretti
Musik: Daniele Rossi, Enrico Pasini
Ton: Diego Schiavo
Buch: Claudia Tosi
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.