DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Spreeland Fontane


Spreeland Fontane


CATALOGUE TEXT
The rivers used to run the way they run today. Sure, they carried other water. But isn’t water always water? We see water in almost every take of this cinematic ramble through Brandenburg’s Spree areas – moving, stagnant, clear, murky, overflowing, dammed up, liquid, frozen – in static takes, audiovisual crystallizations of the ontological modes of water, always both historic tableau and view of the present day: the rivers that flow or stand still the way they always used to flow or stand still and the highways beyond their banks, the smoking chimneys of power plants in the background, the motor boats, the jetties, the bridges, the shipping facilities.

After “Oderland. Fontane” and “Rhinland. Fontane”, Bernhard Sallmann is now presenting “Spreeland Fontane”, his third film essay adaptation of the five-volume travelogue “Ramblings through Brandenburg”. Offscreen, Judica Albrecht’s crystal clear, almost black and white voice recites passages from the impressions the famous German writer Theodor Fontane turned into prose, while onscreen the places of influx where history and the present age flow together are revealed.

Lukas Stern


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize


/

/
Credits
Original Title: Spreeland Fontane
Country: Germany
Year: 2018
Language: German
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 79 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Bernhard Sallmann
Producer: Bernhard Sallmann
Cinematographer: Bernhard Sallmann
Editor: Christoph Krüger
Sound: Klaus Barm
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Spreeland Fontane


Spreeland Fontane


KATALOGTEXT
Früher flossen die Flüsse, wie sie heute fließen. Sicher, sie trugen anderes Wasser. Aber ist nicht Wasser gleich Wasser? Fast in jeder Einstellung dieses filmischen Streifzugs durch die brandenburgischen Spreegebiete sehen wir Wasser – bewegtes, stehendes, klares, trübes, ausuferndes, eingedämmtes, flüssiges, gefrorenes. Es sind starre Bilder, audiovisuelle Kristallisationen der Seinsweisen des Wassers, immer zugleich Geschichtstableaus und Anschauungen der Gegenwart: die Flüsse, die heute fließen und stehen, wie sie immer schon flossen und standen, und die Bundestraßen jenseits ihrer Ufer, die rauchenden Schornsteine von Kraftwerken im Hintergrund, die Motorboote, die Stege, die Brücken, die Schifffahrtsanlagen.

Nach „Oderland. Fontane“ und „Rhinland. Fontane“ legt Bernhard Sallmann mit „Spreeland Fontane“ nun die dritte filmessayistische Bearbeitung der fünfbändigen Reiseschilderung „Wanderungen durch die Mark Brandenburg“ vor. Im Off rezitiert die glasklare, beinahe schwarz-weiße Stimme von Judica Albrecht Passagen aus den Prosa gewordenen Eindrücken des berühmten deutschen Schriftstellers Theodor Fontane, während im On die Zuflussstellen freigelegt werden, an denen Geschichte und Gegenwart ineinander strömen.

Lukas Stern


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts

Credits
Originaltitel: Spreeland Fontane
Land: Deutschland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 79 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Bernhard Sallmann
Produktion: Bernhard Sallmann
Kamera: Bernhard Sallmann
Schnitt: Christoph Krüger
Ton: Klaus Barm
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.