DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Chris the Swiss


Chris the Swiss




CATALOGUE TEXT
Christian Würtenberg died in Croatia in 1992. Even though the young Swiss had come as a journalist, he was wearing the uniform of an international militia that fought on the Croatian side in the civil war. Why he took up arms has long remained a mystery. His cousin, the filmmaker Anja Kofmel, has confronted the question.

She interviews companions, complementing the documentary footage with dark, pared-down animated sequences which form the film’s narrative structure. Diving deeply into the political turmoil, the film portrays Chris’s path towards joining a group of nationalist mercenaries supported by Opus Dei. A politically explosive film even today, a visually impressive thriller that shows how quickly a person’s attitude can be devastated by war.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize and the MDR Film Prize


/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Chris the Swiss
Country: Switzerland, Germany, Croatia, Finland
Year: 2018
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Swiss German
Subtitle: English, German
Runtime: 90 min.
Technique: 2D Digital, Drawn
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Anja Kofmel
Producer: Samir (Dschoint Ventschr), Siniša Juričić (Nukleus Film), Heino Deckert (Ma.ja.de.), Iikka Vehkalahti (IV Films Ltd / p.s.72 productions)
Cinematographer: Simon Guy Fässler
Editor: Stefan Kälin
Animation: Simon Eltz
Sound: Daniel Hobi, Marco Teufen, Hrvoje Petek
Music: Marcel Vaid
Script: Anja Kofmel
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Chris the Swiss


Chris the Swiss




KATALOGTEXT
Christian Würtenberg starb 1992 in Kroatien. Obwohl der junge Schweizer als Journalist gekommen war, trug er die Uniform einer internationalen Miliz, die auf kroatischer Seite im Bürgerkrieg kämpfte. Lange blieb rätselhaft, warum er selbst zur Waffe griff. Seine Cousine, die Filmemacherin Anja Kofmel, hat sich dieser Frage gestellt.

Sie befragt Weggefährten und ergänzt die dokumentarischen Aufnahmen mit düsteren, aufs Wesentliche reduzierten Animationssequenzen, die das narrative Gerüst des Films bilden. Tief eintauchend in die politischen Wirrungen zeichnet der Film nach, wie Chris Teil der nationalistischen, von Opus Dei unterstützten Söldner wurde. Ein politisch bis heute brisanter, visuell beeindruckender Krimi, der zeigt, wie schnell die persönliche Haltung im Krieg versehrt werden kann.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts und den MDR-Filmpreis


/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Chris the Swiss
Land: Schweiz, Deutschland, Kroatien, Finnland
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: deutsch, englisch, französisch, schweizerdeutsch, spanisch
Untertitel: deutsch, englisch
Laufzeit: 90 min.
Technik: 2D Digital, Drawn
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Anja Kofmel
Produktion: Samir (Dschoint Ventschr), Siniša Juričić (Nukleus Film), Heino Deckert (Ma.ja.de.), Iikka Vehkalahti (IV Films Ltd / p.s.72 productions)
Kamera: Simon Guy Fässler
Schnitt: Stefan Kälin
Animation: Simon Eltz
Ton: Daniel Hobi, Marco Teufen, Hrvoje Petek
Musik: Marcel Vaid
Buch: Anja Kofmel
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.