DOK Leipzig 29 October – 4 November 2018
61st International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Cinema Morocco


Cinema Morocco


CATALOGUE TEXT
A strange newsreel report is all that recalls the glamorous past of the Cine Marrocos in São Paulo today. We see Irene Dunne, Erich von Stroheim and Abel Gance at the International Film Festival of Brazil 1954, walking up the red carpet to the opulent cinema palace, and Fubuki Koshiji stumbling and “revealing her delicate eastern foot” (original voiceover). Forty years later the twelve-floor building was suddenly empty, for two decades. When the announced renovation didn’t happen, a community of homeless people squatted there in 2013. At times more than 2,000 people from 17 countries lived in the gutted and graffiti covered ruin.

At the initiative of the eponymous film project, films from the first festival year were screened in the re-opened cinema and a theatre workshop was founded where the actor-squatters worked on iconic film scenes, for example from “Sunset Boulevard”, “La Grande Illusion”, “Julius Caesar” and “Sawdust and Tinsel.” On the backdrop of imminent eviction, the film documents the theatre work, “co-written” by broken biographies and resulting in cinematographic re-enactments. Norma Desmond, Marc Anthony, the circus rider Anne and the fighter pilot Maréchal literally become projection surfaces – for experiences as varied as war trauma, depression, disgust of affluence and post-colonial alienation.

Esther Buss

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Cine Marrocos
Country: Brazil
Year: 2018
Language: English, French, Portuguese
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 76 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Ricardo Calil
Producer: Eliane Ferreira, Pablo Iraola
Cinematographer: Loiro Cunha, Carol Quintanilha
Editor: Jordana Berg
Music: André Namur
Sound: Flávio Guedes, Ricardo Pinta
Script: Ricardo Calil
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Cinema Morocco


Cinema Morocco


KATALOGTEXT
An die glanzvolle Vergangenheit des Cine Marrocos’ in São Paulo erinnert heute nur noch ein kurioser Nachrichtenfilm. Er zeigt, wie Irene Dunne, Erich von Stroheim und Abel Gance 1954 zum ersten Internationalen Filmfestival von Brasilien in den luxuriösen Kinopalast schaulaufen, und dass Fubuki Koshiji beim Stolpern ihren „zarten östlichen Fuß enthüllt“ (Originalton). Vierzig Jahre später stand das zwölfstöckige Gebäude plötzlich leer – zwei Dekaden lang. Als die angekündigte Renovierung auf sich warten ließ, wurde es 2013 von einer Gemeinschaft von Obdachlosen besetzt. Zeitweilig lebten 2.000 Menschen aus 17 Ländern in der ausgeweideten und mit Graffitis gesäumten Bauruine.

Auf Initiative des gleichnamigen Filmprojekts wurden im wiedereröffneten Kino Filme aus dem ersten Festivaljahr vorgeführt und ein Theaterworkshop ins Leben gerufen. Dabei erarbeiteten die schauspielenden Besetzer ikonische Filmszenen, etwa aus „Boulevard der Dämmerung“, „Die große Illusion“, „Julius Caesar“ und „Abend der Gaukler“. Vor dem Hintergrund der drohenden Zwangsräumung dokumentiert der Film die von den zerrütteten Biografien „mitgeschriebene“ Theaterarbeit, an deren Ende kinematografische Reenactments stehen. Norma Desmond, Marcus Antonius, die Kunstreiterin Anne und der Jagdflieger Maréchal werden buchstäblich zu Projektionsflächen – für so unterschiedliche Erfahrungen wie Kriegstraumata, Depression, Wohlstandsekel und postkoloniale Entfremdung.

Esther Buss



Goldene Taube im Next Masters Wettbewerb Langfilm



/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Cine Marrocos
Land: Brasilien
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: englisch, französisch, portugiesisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 76 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Ricardo Calil
Produktion: Eliane Ferreira, Pablo Iraola
Kamera: Loiro Cunha, Carol Quintanilha
Schnitt: Jordana Berg
Musik: André Namur
Ton: Flávio Guedes, Ricardo Pinta
Buch: Ricardo Calil
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.