DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Island of the Hungry Ghosts


Island of the Hungry Ghosts


CATALOGUE TEXT
There are places that make us realise instantly that they don’t need us and never did. They exist even if we don’t look at them. Christmas Island, a tiny 135 square kilometre dot in the Indian Ocean, is such a place. It probably first saw humans in 1643. It’s hard to imagine how amazed the endemic red crabs, which were alone with themselves, the tropical thicket and the snow white sandy beaches until then, must have been at this loud-mouthed guest who declared himself the great “discoverer”! The refugee reception centre on Christmas Island is another such place. Since 2001, the Australian government has detained asylum seekers here to deny them their right to regular admission procedures on the continent. The crabs continue amazed.

We are brought face to face with this amazement in the powerful images, sounds and metaphors of Gabrielle Brady’s cinematic reflection on the right to hospitality and forbearance – poetically condensed, emotionally haunting and politically poignant. First in the shape of trauma therapist Poh Lin, who helps the inmates of the detention camp come to terms with their fate while she herself is struggling to maintain composure. Then as the mythical story of the wandering spirits of the dead, told by the Chinese immigrants. And finally as a sprawling, teeming, unimpressed nature that grows and crawls wherever it pleases.

Sylvia Görke


Nominated for the Goethe-Institut Documentary Film Prize


/

/
Credits
Original Title: Island of the Hungry Ghosts
Country: Germany, UK, Australia
Year: 2018
Language: Chinese, English, Farsi, French
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 98 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Gabrielle Brady
Producer: Alexander Wadouh
Cinematographer: Michael Latham
Editor: Katharina Fiedler
Music: Aaron Cupples
Sound: Leo Dolgan
Script: Gabrielle Brady
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 28. Oktober – 3. November 2019
62. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Island of the Hungry Ghosts


Island of the Hungry Ghosts


KATALOGTEXT
Es gibt Orte, die einem unmittelbar bewusst machen, dass sie uns nicht brauchen, nie gebraucht haben. Sie existieren, auch wenn sie von uns nicht angeschaut werden. Die Weihnachtsinsel, ein 135 Quadratkilometer winziger Flecken im Indischen Ozean, ist so ein Ort. Sie erblickte ihren ersten Menschen wohl 1643. Kaum auszudenken, wie die endemischen roten Krabben, die bis dahin allein mit sich, dem tropischen Dickicht und den schneeweißen Sandstränden waren, über den sich großmäulig als „Entdecker“ aufspielenden Gast gestaunt haben müssen! Das Flüchtlingsauffanglager auf der Weihnachtsinsel ist noch so ein Ort. Seit 2001 setzt die australische Regierung hier Asylsuchende fest, um ihnen das Recht auf ein reguläres Aufnahmeverfahren auf dem Festland vorzuenthalten. Die Krabben staunen weiter.

In Gabrielle Bradys bild-, ton- und metapherngewaltigem Filmnachdenken über Gastrecht und Duldsamkeit begegnen wir diesem Staunen – poetisch verdichtet, emotional eindringlich und politisch geschärft. Zunächst in Gestalt der Trauma-Therapeutin Poh Lin, die Insassen des Internierungslagers dabei hilft, ihr Schicksal zu fassen, während sie selbst um Fassung ringt. Dann als mythische Geschichte von den umherirrenden Geistern der Toten, die sich die chinesischen Einwanderer erzählen. Und schließlich in der wuchernden, wimmelnden, unbeeindruckt daseienden Natur, die wächst und kriecht, wohin sie will.

Sylvia Görke


Nominiert für den Dokumentarfilmpreis des Goethe-Instituts


/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Island of the Hungry Ghosts
Land: Deutschland, UK, Australien
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: chinesisch, englisch, Farsi, französisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 98 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Gabrielle Brady
Produktion: Alexander Wadouh
Kamera: Michael Latham
Schnitt: Katharina Fiedler
Musik: Aaron Cupples
Ton: Leo Dolgan
Buch: Gabrielle Brady
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.