DOK Leipzig 28 October – 3 November 2019
62nd International Leipzig Festival for Documentary and Animated Film
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

No Obvious Signs


No Obvious Signs




CATALOGUE TEXT
A war that destabilises the country and traumatises its people has been simmering in the Ukraine since 2014. Reservists like circa 50-year-old Oksana, who left the army highly decorated after her term of service ended, are struggling with the psychological effects of their experiences. But when the body looks unharmed, psychological trauma often goes unnoticed – by doctors as well as by those affected.

Oksana suffers from anxiety and extreme panic attacks and is among the few Ukrainians who have access to medically supervised treatment of their post traumatic stress disorder. The film follows a strong, thinking woman on her way back to life and demonstrates impressively how indelibly war eats into life.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Awarded with the MDR Film Prize


/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Yavnykh proyaviv nemaye
Country: Ukraine
Year: 2018
Language: Russian
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 62 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Alina Gorlova
Producer: Mariya Berlinska, Alina Gorlova
Cinematographer: Oleksiy Kuchma
Editor: Alina Gorlova
Music: Ptakh Jung
Sound: Vasyl Yavtushenko
Script: Alina Gorlova
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2018 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK Leipzig 29. Oktober – 4. November 2018
61. Internationales Leipziger Festival für Dokumentar- und Animationsfilm
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

No Obvious Signs


No Obvious Signs




KATALOGTEXT
Seit 2014 brodelt in der Ukraine ein Krieg, der das Land destabilisiert und die Menschen traumatisiert. Reservisten wie die circa 50-jährige Oksana, die nach ihrer Dienstzeit als Soldatin die Armee hochdekoriert verlassen hat, kämpfen mit den psychischen Folgen ihrer Erlebnisse. Denn wenn der Körper äußerlich unversehrt erscheint, bleiben seelische Verletzungen oft unbemerkt – von Ärzten genauso wie von den Betroffenen selbst.

Oksana leidet unter Angst und extremen Panikattacken und gehört zu den wenigen, die ihre posttraumatische Belastungsstörung in der Ukraine unter ärztlicher Aufsicht behandeln lassen können. Der Film begleitet die starke, reflektierte Frau auf ihrem Weg zurück ins Leben und zeigt eindrücklich, wie unauslöschlich sich der Krieg in das Leben hineinfrisst.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für den MDR-Filmpreis


/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Yavnykh proyaviv nemaye
Land: Ukraine
Jahr: 2018
Sprache: russisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 62 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Alina Gorlova
Produktion: Mariya Berlinska, Alina Gorlova
Kamera: Oleksiy Kuchma
Schnitt: Alina Gorlova
Musik: Ptakh Jung
Ton: Vasyl Yavtushenko
Buch: Alina Gorlova
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2018 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.