DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Commanders – Chairmen – General Secretaries 2


Commanders – Chairmen – General Secretaries 2


CATALOGUE TEXT
Two quotes will illustrate what this “chapter” is about. The first is by Christoph Menke, philosopher: “The revolution does not consist of one act of upheaval, the moment of anarchy when the old order loses its head. (…) The revolution consists of changing life where it is most unfree: life as disciplined action, as work. The revolution does not change it by abolishing it; without discipline – drill, practice, test – there are no skills at all and therefore no action. The revolution changes practice itself and turns it into an execution that inspires because it is playful. Or alive (because enthusiasm is animation).”

The second is by Heiner Müller, poly-intellectual: “Those who are identical with themselves might as well have themselves coffined; they have ceased to exist, to move. Identical is a monument. What is needed is the future, and not the eternity of the moment. The dead must be dug up, again and again, because only they can yield the future.” The same subject, put once in factual terms, once in dramatic terms. A bicoloured intellectual framework to this two-part programme.

Ralph Eue

/
Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Kommandanten – Vorsitzende – Generalsekretäre 2


Kommandanten – Vorsitzende – Generalsekretäre 2


KATALOGTEXT
Zwei Zitate, die verdeutlichen, worum es in diesem „Kapitel“ gehen soll. Das erste ist von Christoph Menke, Philosoph: „Die Revolution besteht nicht in dem umwälzenden Akt, dem Moment der Anarchie, in dem die alte Ordnung ihren Kopf verliert. (…) Die Revolution besteht in der Veränderung des Lebens in dem, worin es am unfreiesten ist: im Leben als diszipliniertem Tun, als Arbeit. Die Revolution verändert es nicht, indem sie es abschafft; ohne Disziplinierung – Abrichtung, Übung, Prüfung – gibt es gar keine Fähigkeiten und daher auch kein Handeln. Die Revolution verändert das Üben selbst: Sie macht es zu einem Vollzug, der begeistert, weil er spielerisch ist. Oder lebendig (denn Begeisterung, Enthusiasmus, heißt Belebung, animation).“

Das zweite ist von Heiner Müller, Universalintellektueller: „Wer mit sich identisch ist, der kann sich einsargen lassen, der existiert nicht mehr, ist nicht mehr in Bewegung. Identisch ist ein Denkmal. Was man braucht, ist Zukunft und nicht die Ewigkeit des Augenblicks. Man muss die Toten ausgraben, wieder und wieder, denn nur aus ihnen kann man Zukunft beziehen.“ Das gleiche Sujet, einmal sachlich, einmal dramatisch formuliert. Eine zweifarbige gedankliche Rahmung dieses zweiteiligen Programms.

Ralph Eue

/
Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.