DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

15 Corners of the World


15 Corners of the World




CATALOGUE TEXT
“Digital is better” – nowadays this title of a 90s track by the German band Tocotronic is a popular phrase we use without thinking. It’s a good thing then that our memories of the unique opportunities offered by analogue technology are now impressively revived by this film, which imaginatively demonstrates what spaces are disappearing in the wake of its loss. Its audiovisual journey starts at Polish Radio’s legendary experimental studio, which in the 1960s saw science fiction sounds created in a sound lab that looked like a spaceship’s control room. The head-strong composer Eugeniusz Rudnik, a former pioneer of electroacoustic music, is still working obsessively at his analogue editing station, trying to create unknown sound spheres in order to learn more about human nature. A discarded piece of tape, a voice, a stone, anything can become the basic material of a composition. Even a house – pending proof.

This tongue-in-cheek portrait of the artist as a sound tinkerer invites us on a visual expedition into his sound worlds. The camera, too, takes experimental choices, translates the acoustic dimensions into architecture, dance or landscapes, offers multiple interpretations and creates a synaesthetic experience for the big screen. No need to add that the film is also an ode to the analogue age.

Lars Meyer
Credits
Original Title: 15 stron świata
Country: Poland, Germany
Year: 2014
Language: Polish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 75 min.
Format: BluRay Disc
Color: Colour
Director: Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Producer: Marta Golba, Erik Winker
Cinematographer: Zvika Gregory Portnoy
Editor: Mateusz Romaszkan
Music: Eugeniusz Rudnik
Sound: Marcin Lenarczyk
Script: Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

15 Corners of the World


15 Corners of the World




KATALOGTEXT
„Digital ist besser“ – dieser 90er-Jahre-Titel der deutschen Band Tocotronic ist hierzulande zum geflügelten Wort geworden, das kaum noch hinterfragt wird. Wie gut, dass wir nun eindrücklich an die einzigartigen Möglichkeiten der analogen Technik erinnert werden. Fantasievoll führt der Film vor, welche Räume uns mit ihr verloren gehen. Ausgangspunkt der audiovisuellen Reise ist das legendäre Experimentalstudio des Polnischen Radios, wo in den 60ern Science-Fiction-Klänge erzeugt wurden, in einem Tonlabor, das selbst wie die Schaltzentrale eines Raumschiffes wirkte. Einst einer der Pioniere der Elektroakustischen Musik, arbeitet der eigensinnige Komponist Eugeniusz Rudnik aber noch immer wie besessen an seinem analogen Schnittplatz daran, unbekannte Klangsphären zu erzeugen, um damit der menschlichen Natur auf den Grund zu gehen. Ein weggeworfener Tonbandstreifen, eine Stimme, ein Stein, alles kann zum Basismaterial für eine Komposition werden. Auch ein Haus – was zu beweisen wäre.

Das augenzwinkernde Porträt des Künstlers als Klangtüftler lädt zu visuellen Erkundungen seiner Tonwelten ein. Die Kamera geht selbst experimentelle Wege, übersetzt die akustischen Dimensionen in Architektur, Tanz oder auch Landschaft, bietet vielschichtige Deutungen an und schafft somit ein synästhetisches Erlebnis für die große Leinwand. Man muss wohl kaum hinzufügen, dass der Film auch eine Ode an das analoge Zeitalter darstellt.

Lars Meyer
Credits
Originaltitel: 15 stron świata
Land: Polen, Deutschland
Jahr: 2014
Sprache: polnisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 75 min.
Format: BluRay Disc
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Zuzanna Solakiewicz
Produktion: Marta Golba, Erik Winker
Kamera: Zvika Gregory Portnoy
Schnitt: Mateusz Romaszkan
Musik: Eugeniusz Rudnik
Ton: Marcin Lenarczyk
Buch: Zuzanna Solakiewicz
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.