DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Brothers


Brothers




CATALOGUE TEXT
The first sentences are still spoken in Russian. Then the brothers Mieczysław and Alfons find their Polish tongue again. They are back in their native country of Masuria, 70 years after being sent to exile in Siberia. But apart from the language they might as well still be in Siberia or Kazakhstan. The stations of their lives have gradually lost their time and place over the years, as scenes from their own home movies, yellowed traces of memories, suggest.

Director and cinematographer Wojciech Staroń accompanies the brothers on the last stage of their shared life, doles out their minor verbal tiffs and searches for the intimate moments that show wordlessly that they always depended on each other. One brother paints, the other holds the ladder, though it may cost his last ounce of strength. Staroń’s camera unerringly captures the symbolic images that reflect the brothers’ lives together. Two tractors chasing each other on the horizon. Two jetties on a lake, one of them a little more decrepit than the other. Two trees on a snow covered field, the one farther out hardly visible. At the same time he manages to re-translate Alfons’s mystical nature paintings into the present day, in which the brothers face a very real farewell. A poetical look back at a shared life.

Lars Meyer



Golden Dove in the International Competition 2015 and Award winner of the Prize of the Ecomenical Jury 2015

Credits
Original Title: Bracia
Country: Poland
Year: 2015
Language: Polish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 68 min.
Format: .mp4
Color: Colour
Director: Wojciech Staroń
Producer: Małgorzata Staroń
Cinematographer: Wojciech Staroń
Editor: Zbigniew Osiński, Wojciech Staroń
Script: Wojciech Staroń
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Brothers


Brothers




KATALOGTEXT
Die ersten Sätze fallen noch auf Russisch. Dann finden die Brüder Mieczysław und Alfons ins Polnische zurück. 70 Jahre nachdem sie ins sibirische Exil geschickt wurden, sind sie wieder da, in ihrer masurischen Heimat. Doch abgesehen von der Sprache könnten sie sich auch noch in Sibirien oder Kasachstan befinden: Die Stationen ihres Lebens wurden mit den Jahren zeit- und ortlos, wie Ausschnitte ihrer selbstgedrehten Schmalfilme, vergilbte Erinnerungsspuren, nahelegen.

Regisseur und Kameramann Wojciech Staroń begleitet die Brüder auf ihrem letzten gemeinsamen Abschnitt, quotiert ihre kleinen verbalen Kabbeleien und sucht intime Momente, die auch ohne Worte Auskunft darüber geben, dass sie stets aufeinander angewiesen waren. Der eine malt, der andere hält die Leiter, auch noch mit letzter Kraft. Mit schlafwandlerischer Sicherheit fängt Starońs Kamera symbolische Bilder ein, die das Mit- und Nebeneinander der Brüder spiegeln. Zwei Traktoren, die sich am Horizont verfolgen. Zwei Stege in den See, der eine schon etwas morscher. Zwei Bäume auf dem schneeverwehten Feld, der weiter entfernte kaum sichtbar. So gelingt ihm zugleich eine Rückübersetzung von Alfons’ mystischen Naturmalereien in die Gegenwart, in der für die Brüder ein ganz realer Abschied bevorsteht. Die poetische Bilanz eines Lebens zu zweit.

Lars Meyer



Ausgezeichnet mit der Goldenen Taube im Internationalen Wettbewerb und dem Preis der Ökumenischen Jury 2015

Credits
Originaltitel: Bracia
Land: Polen
Jahr: 2015
Sprache: polnisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 68 min.
Format: .mp4
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Wojciech Staroń
Produktion: Małgorzata Staroń
Kamera: Wojciech Staroń
Schnitt: Zbigniew Osiński, Wojciech Staroń
Buch: Wojciech Staroń
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.