DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Father and Son


Father and Son




CATALOGUE TEXT
By the time they’re 15 most people don’t travel with their parents any more. If they do, they have good reasons. Especially when one’s father is one of the most important Polish documentary film directors, whose open, invasive style initiated a school of its own, influenced generations of filmmakers and threw a large shadow over the son’s artistic practice (both are Leipzig award winners, by the way).

Paweł Łozinski invites Marcel, Łozinski senior, to an undertaking in the spirit of his father’s documentary method – provoking reality and seeing what happens: to take a trip West in a minivan, from their Polish home to the French roots of his Jewish father. The route alone is full of snares. And so their conversations go back not just to Paweł’s childhood, which he considers a failed experiment in anti-authoritarian ’68 education, but to the preceding generation, the Résistance and the Holocaust. As they ceaselessly polish glasses and windowpanes at rest areas and camping grounds, they struggle for clarity in their dialogues, too: about family, love, old age, traumata, responsibility, and forgiveness. Some questions remain open. But it’s clear that the shared journey leads to new places when parents grow old. The story of father and son has no happy end. But it is full of moments like the one when the father calls his ice cream-eating son “my little boy”. You can’t ask for more than that.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Original Title: Ojciec i syn
Country: Poland
Year: 2013
Language: Polish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 54 min.
Format: .mp4
Color: Colour
Director: Paweł Łoziński
Producer: Paweł Łoziński
Cinematographer: Paweł Łoziński, Marcel Łoziński
Editor: Przemysław Chruścielewski
Contacts


The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG
INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR– UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Father and Son


Father and Son




KATALOGTEXT
Spätestens mit 15 hört der Mensch auf, mit seinen Eltern zu verreisen. Tut er es dennoch, hat er gute Gründe. Besonders, wenn der Vater einer der wichtigsten Regisseure des polnischen Dokumentarfilms ist, dessen offen invasiver Stil eine eigene Schule prägte, Generationen von Filmemachern beeinflusste und einen großen Schatten auf das künstlerische Schaffen des Sohnes wirft (beide übrigens Leipzig-Preisträger).

Ganz im Sinne der dokumentarischen Methode des Vaters – die Wirklichkeit provozieren und sehen, was passiert – lädt Paweł Łozinski Senior Marcel ein: auf eine Tour im Kleinbus gen Westen, von der polnischen Heimat zu den französischen Wurzeln des jüdischen Vaters. Allein dies ein Weg voller Fallstricke. Und so gehen die Gespräche nicht nur zurück in Pawełs Kindheit, für ihn ein missglücktes Experiment anti-autoritärer 68er-Erziehung, sondern bis in die vorhergehende Generation, zu Résistance und Holocaust. Auf Rast- und Campingplätzen wird unablässig an Brillen und Scheiben geputzt und auch im Dialog um Klarheit gerungen: über Familie, Liebe, das Alter, über Traumata, Verantwortung und Vergebung. Manches bleibt offen. Klar aber wird, dass die gemeinsame Reise an neue Orte geht, wenn Eltern alt werden. Die Geschichte von Vater und Sohn bleibt ohne Happy End. Aber sie ist voller Momente wie jenem, in dem der Vater zum Eis essenden Sohn „mein kleiner Junge“ sagt. Mehr kann man nicht verlangen.

Grit Lemke
Credits
Originaltitel: Ojciec i syn
Land: Polen
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: polnisch
Untertitel: englisch
Laufzeit: 54 min.
Format: .mp4
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Paweł Łoziński
Produktion: Paweł Łoziński
Kamera: Paweł Łoziński, Marcel Łoziński
Schnitt: Przemysław Chruścielewski
KONTAKT


Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.