DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Domestic Karaoke


Domestic Karaoke


CATALOGUE TEXT
A documentary experiment: six women, three housemaids and three employers, who discuss housework and hierarchies, respect and social status, habits and dreams in front of different-coloured backgrounds (red, blue and yellow). Fragmented tales of work and family circumstances make the viewer create their own montage in their heads. Biographies crystallize in front of their inner eye.
All six women, aged between 35 and 64, are played by the filmmaker Inès Rabadán herself. Costumes and masks are identical, so the women whose stories we share are neither marked as representatives of their class (or profession) nor as individual personalities. We hear (and experience!) only their voices and see the actor-director’s magnificent appropriation of their respective personalities through lip-synching and miming. It seems as if Inès Rabadán translated Brecht’s theoretical scepticism of the reliability of simple documentary representation into visual practice: “A recording of the Krupp works or AEG yields almost nothing about these institutes. Actual reality has slipped into the functional. To achieve truth, something must be constructed, something artificial, staged.”

Ralph Eue

/
Credits
Original Title: Karaoké domestique
Country: Belgium
Year: 2013
Language: French
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 35 min.
Format: HD Videofile (QT H.264 1080p)
Color: Colour
Director: Inès Rabadán
Producer: Inès Rabadán
Cinematographer: Olan Bowland
Editor: Inès Rabadán
Music: Alice Vande Voorde, Vera Cavallin
Sound: Thibaut Darscotte
Script: Inès Rabadán
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Domestic Karaoke


Domestic Karaoke


KATALOGTEXT
Eine dokumentarische Versuchsanordnung: Sechs Frauen, jeweils drei Hausangestellte und drei Hausherrinnen, die sich vor verschiedenfarbigen Hintergründen (rot, blau und gelb) über Hausarbeit und Hierarchien, Respekt und Status in der Gesellschaft, Gewohnheiten und Träume äußern. Ausschnitthafte Erzählungen von Arbeits- und Familienzusammenhängen generieren Montagearbeit im Kopf der Zuschauer. Lebensgeschichten entstehen vor dem inneren Auge.
Alle sechs Frauen im Alter zwischen 35 und 64 Jahren verkörpert die Filmemacherin Inès Rabadán selbst. Kostüm und Maske sind identisch, das heißt die Frauen, an deren Geschichten wir teilhaben, werden weder als Vertreterinnen ihrer Klasse (oder ihres Berufsstandes) noch als individuelle Charaktere kenntlich. Wir hören (und erfahren!) nur ihre Stimmen und sehen die großartige Arbeit der lippensynchronen und mimischen Aneignung der jeweiligen Persönlichkeit durch die Darstellerin-Regisseurin. Es scheint, als überführe Inès Rabadán die theoretische Skepsis Brechts gegenüber der Zuverlässigkeit der schlichten dokumentarischen Abbildung in filmische Praxis: „Eine Aufnahme der Kruppwerke oder der AEG ergibt beinahe nichts über diese Institute. Die eigentliche Realität ist in die Funktionale gerutscht. Um der Wahrheit willen ist also tatsächlich etwas aufzubauen, etwas Künstliches, Gestelltes.“

Ralph Eue

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Karaoké domestique
Land: Belgien
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: französisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 35 min.
Format: HD Videofile (QT H.264 1080p)
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Inès Rabadán
Produktion: Inès Rabadán
Kamera: Olan Bowland
Schnitt: Inès Rabadán
Musik: Alice Vande Voorde, Vera Cavallin
Ton: Thibaut Darscotte
Buch: Inès Rabadán
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.