DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Rhinland. Fontane


Rhinland. Fontane


CATALOGUE TEXT
Bernhard Sallmann is working on a film project in several parts dedicated to Theodor Fontane and his “Ramblings through Brandenburg”. “Rhinland. Fontane” is the second part and follows “Oderland. Fontane”. The filmmaker’s interest is historic on the one hand, which emerges in the precise recital of passages from Fontane’s book “Die Grafschaft Ruppin” (Ruppin County): peat cutters’ working conditions, Prussian militarism, capitalist speculators, the author’s self-reflections or the drastic experience of the Thirty Years’ War. On the other hand, Sallman’s concept of a strict registry of places and landscapes in long, static shots with location sound is indebted only to the present day: long distance roads crisscross a marshy landscape; secluded lakes open up in the beech forest.

Another great rambler, Georg Forster, once reflected on his enthusiasm for the observation of the presence and underlying history of landscapes: “In the end one doesn’t have more than what falls through these two openings of the pupils to stimulate the vibrations of the brain. We have no other way of experiencing the world and its nature.” Experiencing the world and its nature is Sallmann’s intention, too.

Ralph Eue

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Rhinland. Fontane
Country: Germany
Year: 2017
Language: German
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 67 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Bernhard Sallmann
Producer: Bernhard Sallmann
Cinematographer: Bernhard Sallmann
Editor: Christoph Krüger
Sound: Klaus Barm
Script: Bernhard Sallmann
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Rhinland. Fontane


Rhinland. Fontane


KATALOGTEXT
Bernhard Sallmann arbeitet an einem mehrteiligen Filmprojekt, das sich der Auseinandersetzung mit Theodor Fontane und dessen „Wanderungen durch die Mark Brandenburg“ verschrieben hat. Nach „Oderland. Fontane“ ist „Rhinland. Fontane“ der zweite Teil. Das Interesse des Filmemachers ist einerseits ein historisches, das sich in der genauen Rezitation von Passagen aus Fontanes Buch „Die Grafschaft Ruppin“ abzeichnet: Arbeitsverhältnisse von Torfstechern, preußischer Militarismus, kapitalistisches Spekulantentum, Selbstreflexionen des Autors oder die einschneidende Erfahrung des Dreißigjährigen Krieges. Andererseits ist Sallmanns Konzept einer strengen Orts- und Landschaftsregistratur in langen statischen Einstellungen mit Originalton der Gegenwart verpflichtet: Fernverkehrsstraßen durchziehen eine vom Menschen bearbeitete Sumpflandschaft, verschwiegene Seen tun sich im Buchenwald auf.

Ein anderer großer Wanderer, Georg Forster, reflektierte einmal seinen Enthusiasmus für die Beobachtung landschaftlicher Gegenwart und ihrer dahinterliegenden Geschichte mit den Worten: „Mehr hat man doch nicht, als was einem durch diese zwei Oeffnungen der Pupille fällt und die Schwingungen des Gehirns erregt. Anders als so nehmen wir die Welt und ihr Wesen nicht auf.“ Die Welt und ihr Wesen aufzuspüren, das ist auch Sallmanns Absicht.

Ralph Eue

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Rhinland. Fontane
Land: Deutschland
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: deutsch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 67 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Bernhard Sallmann
Produktion: Bernhard Sallmann
Kamera: Bernhard Sallmann
Schnitt: Christoph Krüger
Ton: Klaus Barm
Buch: Bernhard Sallmann
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.