DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Gwendolyn


Gwendolyn




CATALOGUE TEXT
Gwendolyn Leick is a master of countenance. It’s no coincidence that the retired anthropologist, writer and weight lifter quotes a passage from a poem by Gertrude Stein that refers to this: “If can in countenance to countenance a countenance as in as seen …” Gwen was born in Austria. She went to London in the mid-1970s to write her thesis on Babylonian curses. At the age of 52 the petite woman began to lift weights and has since won a number of international titles. While Gwen is preparing for the European Championship in Azerbaijan with her long-term coach Pat, she copes with unilateral facial paralysis and her third cancer operation.

After portraying female boxers in “Tough Cookies” in 2014, Ruth Kaaserer once more enters an athletic environment that has little to do with the familiar images of muscle building, grinding workouts and sweat. More restrained and graceful scenes were rarely scene at a gym. “Gwendolyn” pays the same direct attention to the everyday life of this unusual woman: visits to the doctor, life with her much younger husband Charlie, conversations with her son about what writing and sewing have in common. Sometimes there’s no choice – the seams must be unstitched.

Esther Buss

/

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Gwendolyn
Country: Austria
Year: 2017
Language: English, Portuguese
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 85 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Ruth Kaaserer
Producer: Jürgen Karasek
Cinematographer: Serafin Spitzer
Editor: Joana Scrinzi
Sound: Tong Zhang
Script: Ruth Kaaserer
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Gwendolyn


Gwendolyn




KATALOGTEXT
Gwendolyn Leick ist eine Meisterin der Haltung. Nicht von ungefähr zitiert die pensionierte Anthropologin, Autorin und Gewichtheberin eine Passage aus einem Gedicht von Gertrude Stein, die genau davon handelt: „If can in countenance to countenance a countenance as in as seen ...“ Gwen ist gebürtige Österreicherin. Mitte der 1970er Jahre ging sie nach London, um ihre Dissertation über babylonische Flüche zu schreiben. Im Alter von 52 Jahren fing die zierliche Frau mit dem Gewichtheben an und hat seitdem zahlreiche internationale Titel gewonnen. Während sich Gwen mit ihrem langjährigen Coach Pat auf die europäischen Meisterschaften in Aserbaidschan vorbereitet, bewältigt sie eine halbseitige Gesichtslähmung und ihre inzwischen dritte Krebsoperation.

Nach dem Boxerinnenporträt „Tough Cookies“ von 2014 begibt sich Ruth Kaaserer erneut in ein sportliches Milieu, das wenig mit den gängigen Bildern von Kraftarbeit, Schinderei und Schweiß zu tun hat. Beherrschtere und anmutigere Szenen hat man wohl selten in einem Gym gesehen. Mit derselben geradlinigen Aufmerksamkeit widmet sich „Gwendolyn“ dem Alltagsleben dieser ungewöhnlichen Frau: Arztbesuche, das Zusammensein mit ihrem wesentlich jüngeren Ehemann Charlie, Gespräche mit ihrem Sohn über die Gemeinsamkeiten von Schreiben und Nähen. Manchmal bleibt keine Wahl – man muss die Nähte auftrennen.

Esther Buss

/

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Gwendolyn
Land: Österreich
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: englisch, portugiesisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 85 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Ruth Kaaserer
Produktion: Jürgen Karasek
Kamera: Serafin Spitzer
Schnitt: Joana Scrinzi
Ton: Tong Zhang
Buch: Ruth Kaaserer
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.