DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Other Side of the Wall


The Other Side of the Wall




CATALOGUE TEXT
Sometimes 13-year-old Rocío suddenly becomes an adult woman worried about the future. This is mostly due to the fact that, together with her 18-year-old brother Alejandro, she has to take care of two younger siblings while their mother is in prison. It’s been more than two years that the teenagers have been holding the family together. But the extreme situation is wearing them out and they quarrel more and more frequently. The battles they fight are both copies of classic arguments between couples (“I’m the only one who tidies the house here!”) and expressions of their inner conflicts. Both want to be capable of handling difficult situations and “carry their own weight”. But especially pubescent Rocío feels, that “my relationship with myself”, as she puts it, has been less than perfect for a while.

This detailed filmic observation shows a family microcosm marked by overextension, but also by great warmth. Both Rocío and Ale use the conversations on camera as moments of reflection – both analysing their own situation with breathtaking precision and realism. This film is also an emphatic declaration of love by director Paul Ortiz to his young protagonists that will stay with the viewer for a long time.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominated for Young Eyes Film Award

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Al otro lado del muro
Country: Spain, Mexico
Year: 2017
Language: Spanish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 68 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Pau Ortiz
Producer: María Nova López, Emiliano Altuna, Carlos Rossini, Tatiana García
Cinematographer: María Nova López
Editor: Frank Gutiérrez, Pau Ortiz
Sound: Carlo Massarelli
Music: Daniel Hidalgo
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Other Side of the Wall


The Other Side of the Wall




KATALOGTEXT
Manchmal wird aus der 13-jährigen Rocío ganz unvermittelt eine erwachsene Frau, die mit sorgenvollem Blick in die Zukunft schaut. Das hat vor allem damit zu tun, dass sie gemeinsam mit ihrem 18-jährigen Bruder Alejandro für die zwei jüngeren Geschwister sorgen muss, während die Mutter im Gefängnis sitzt. Seit mehr als zwei Jahren halten die beiden Teenager die Familie zusammen. Doch die Extremsituation zehrt an ihren Nerven und immer häufiger rasseln sie aneinander. Die Schlachten, die sie schlagen, sind einerseits Abziehbilder klassischer Streitigkeiten zwischen Paaren („Ich bin hier die Einzige, die das Haus sauber hält!“), andererseits Ausdruck der eigenen Zerrissenheit. Beide haben den Anspruch an sich selbst, die schwierige Situation zu lösen und ihren „Mann zu stehen“. Doch vor allem die pubertäre Rocío spürt, dass ihre „Beziehung mit sich selbst“, wie sie sagt, seit einiger Zeit nicht die beste ist.

Die detailreiche filmische Beobachtung zeigt einen familiären Mikrokosmos, der von Überforderung, aber auch von großer Wärme geprägt ist. Sowohl Rocío als auch Ale nutzen die Gesprächssequenzen vor der Kamera als Momente der Reflexion – beide analysieren die eigene Situation so präzise und realistisch, dass es einem den Atem nimmt. Mit diesem Film macht Regisseur Pau Ortiz seinen jungen Protagonisten eine empathische Liebeserklärung, die lange nachwirkt.

Luc-Carolin Ziemann


Nominiert für Young Eyes Film Award

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Al otro lado del muro
Land: Spanien, Mexiko
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: spanisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 68 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Pau Ortiz
Produktion: María Nova López, Emiliano Altuna, Carlos Rossini, Tatiana García
Kamera: María Nova López
Schnitt: Frank Gutiérrez, Pau Ortiz
Ton: Carlo Massarelli
Musik: Daniel Hidalgo
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.