DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Displaced


Displaced




CATALOGUE TEXT
The title of this film is taken from Charles Bukowski’s eponymous poem. One of its lines is: “I am not like other people. Other people are like other people.” The young people in Volkan Üce’s “Displaced” know the experience of being different and without a home Bukowski talks about. Sinan, Şule, Orhan and Bahar spent their childhood and youth in Belgium and the Netherlands before they moved (back) to Istanbul, their grandparents’ home country. But even in the city they love so much they are strangers at first.

Over a period of four years – from 2011 to 2015 – Üce follows the Belgian-Turkish or Dutch-Turkish migrants on their quest for identity, jobs and personal happiness. In the face of the political upheavals in Turkey, their European socialisation takes on a different significance. While Orhan sides with Erdoğan, taking part in the Gezi protests becomes a meaningful experience and a way to find his place in society for Sinan: “Gezi is ours. Istanbul is ours. The lightbulb has bursted”, the writing on the wall reads.

Esther Buss

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Displaced
Country: Belgium
Year: 2017
Language: Dutch, Turkish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 71 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Volkan Üce
Producer: Daniel De Valck
Cinematographer: Sander Vandenbroucke
Editor: Els Voorspoels
Music: David Boulter
Sound: Gedeon Depauw
Script: Volkan Üce
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Displaced


Displaced




KATALOGTEXT
Der Titel des Films ist dem gleichnamigen Gedicht von Charles Bukowski entlehnt. Darin heißt es: „I am not like other people. Other people are like other people.“ Die jungen Leute in Volkan Üces „Displaced“ kennen die Erfahrung des Anders- und Unbehaustseins, von der Bukowski spricht. Sinan, Şule, Orhan und Bahar haben ihre Kindheit und Jugend in Belgien und in den Niederlanden verbracht, bevor sie nach Istanbul und damit in das Herkunftsland ihrer Großeltern (zurück-)gingen. Doch auch in der Stadt, die sie so sehr lieben, sind sie zunächst Fremde.

Über einen Zeitraum von vier Jahren – zwischen 2011 und 2015 – begleitet Üce die belgisch-türkischen beziehungsweise niederländisch-türkischen Migranten bei ihrer Suche nach Identität, Arbeit und persönlichem Glück. Dabei bekommt ihre europäische Sozialisation im Zuge der politischen Umwälzungen in der Türkei noch einmal ein ganz anderes Gewicht. Während sich Orhan auf die Seite von Erdoğan stellt, wird die Teilnahme an den Gezi-Protesten für Sinan zu einem sinnstiftenden und selbstverortenden Erlebnis. „Gezi gehört uns. Istanbul gehört uns. Die Glühlampe ist zerplatzt“, ist auf einer Wand zu lesen.

Esther Buss

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Displaced
Land: Belgien
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: niederländisch, türkisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 71 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Volkan Üce
Produktion: Daniel De Valck
Kamera: Sander Vandenbroucke
Schnitt: Els Voorspoels
Musik: David Boulter
Ton: Gedeon Depauw
Buch: Volkan Üce
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.