DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

A Marriage Story


A Marriage Story




CATALOGUE TEXT
Helena Třeštíková from Prague has filmed marriage stories since the early 1980s, which yielded several long-term documentaries. Ivana and Václav’s holy bond of matrimony is the subject of observation in this instalment, which takes us from the day before wedding day to the present day. At the time, in December 1980, Ivana was 21 years old and Václav 24. They were both studying architecture and married “because we like each other. And other things. Things we shouldn’t talk about.” Their first child was born shortly after the wedding: Honza.

Helena Třeštíková’s film “René” won the Golden Dove in Leipzig in 2008; a piece about a hopeless but charming amoralist who was drawn again and again to the same place: prison. It seems as if Třeštíková, too, is attracted by certain places, but even more so by people and the way they try to give their life a meaningful direction. This “marriage story”, for example, reveals an incredible desire for enlargement and growth that shows in an accumulation of objects, children and responsibilities – one of the inner motives of the Strnads which unfolds over 35 years together.

Carolin Weidner


Nominated for MDR Film Prize

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Strnadovi
Country: Czech Republic
Year: 2017
Language: Czech
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 102 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour and B&W
Director: Helena Třeštíková
Producer: Kateřina Černá, Pavel Strnad
Cinematographer: David Cysař, Vlastimil Hamerník, Jan Malíř, Miroslav Souček, Ervín Sanders, Jiří Chod, Robert Novák, Antonín Kutík
Editor: Jakub Hejna
Sound: Richard Müller
Script: Helena Třeštíková
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

A Marriage Story


A Marriage Story




KATALOGTEXT
Geschichten von der Ehe filmt die Pragerin Helena Třeštíková seit den frühen 1980er Jahren, mehrere Langzeitdokumentationen sind auf diese Weise entstanden. Ivana und Václavs ewiger Bund ist Beobachtungsgegenstand dieser Folge, die vom Tag vor der Hochzeit bis ins Heute reicht. Damals, im Dezember 1980, ist Ivana 21 Jahre alt und Václav 24. Beide studieren Architektur und heiraten, „weil wir uns mögen. Und andere Dinge. Dinge, über die man besser nicht spricht.“ Kurz nach der Hochzeit ist das erste Kind da: Honza.

Helena Třeštíkovás Film „René“ gewann 2008 in Leipzig die Goldene Taube, ein Stück über einen hoffnungslosen, aber einnehmenden Amoralisten, den es immer wieder an den gleichen Ort zog: ins Gefängnis. Offenbar ist auch Třeštíková angezogen von bestimmten Orten, vor allem aber von Menschen und der Art, wie sie ihr Leben in sinnvolle Richtungen zu entwickeln versuchen. In dieser „Marriage Story“ lässt sich beispielsweise ein unglaublicher Wunsch nach Vergrößerung und Wachstum ausmachen, der sich in einer Anhäufung von Gegenständen, Kindern und Verantwortlichkeiten zeigt – eines der inneren Motive des Ehepaares Strnad, das sich über 35 gemeinsame Jahre entklappt.

Carolin Weidner


Nominiert für MDR-Filmpreis

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Strnadovi
Land: Tschechische Republik
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: tschechisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 102 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour and B&W
Regie: Helena Třeštíková
Produktion: Kateřina Černá, Pavel Strnad
Kamera: David Cysař, Vlastimil Hamerník, Jan Malíř, Miroslav Souček, Ervín Sanders, Jiří Chod, Robert Novák, Antonín Kutík
Schnitt: Jakub Hejna
Ton: Richard Müller
Buch: Helena Třeštíková
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.