DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Minister of Garbage


The Minister of Garbage




CATALOGUE TEXT
The Congolese artist Emmanuel Botalatala is working on his new assemblage. He fixes painted tombs, crosses and tanks made of garbage to a plywood board while a member of his team paints a blood-red street around the “African cemetery”. In the end the work is dominated by the colours of the German flag – an allusion to the European arms shipments that support the wars on this continent.

Before Botalatala started to work as an artist in 1979 he was a teacher and bank clerk. The 68-year-old autodidact invariably points out that he never attended art school. The “Minister of Garbage” combs the garbage dumps of Kinshasa almost daily to collect material for his object paintings. He finds his subjects in the radio news. Resignations, violent dissolutions of rallies and a massacre with hundreds of victims are reported in the run-up to the presidential elections. Botalatala sacrifices a lot for his artistic and educational project, which would be unthinkable without the work of his wife and the self-styled “Vice Presidents”, while his male artist’s ego frequently shines through his socially engaged art. Even a “Minister of Garbage” wants to leave a legacy.

Esther Buss

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Le ministre des poubelles
Country: Belgium, France
Year: 2017
Language: French
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 75 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Quentin Noirfalisse
Producer: Maximilien Charlier, Laetitia Rodari
Cinematographer: Adrien Kaempf, Quentin Devillers
Editor: Marie Estelle Dieterle
Music: Pierre Monongi Mopia, Daniel Dibwidi
Sound: Nicolas Kerjan
Script: Quentin Noirfalisse
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

The Minister of Garbage


The Minister of Garbage




KATALOGTEXT
Der kongolesische Künstler Emmanuel Botalatala steckt mitten in der Arbeit an einer neuen Assemblage. Auf eine dünne Sperrholzplatte appliziert er bemalte und aus Abfällen gefertigte Gräber, Kreuze und Panzer, sein Mitarbeiter pinselt eine blutrote Straße um den „Friedhof Afrikas“. Am Ende dominieren die Farben der deutschen Flagge das Werk – eine Anspielung auf die durch europäische Waffenlieferungen unterstützen Kriege auf dem Kontinent.

Botalatala arbeitet seit etwa 1979 als Künstler, zuvor war er Lehrer und Bankangestellter. Der 68-jährige Autodidakt legt großen Wert darauf, dass er nie eine Kunstschule besucht hat. Fast täglich unternimmt der „Abfallminister“ Streifzüge durch die Müllhalden von Kinshasa, um Material für seine Objektbilder zu sammeln. Die Themen findet er in den Radionachrichten. Im Vorfeld der geplanten Präsidentschaftswahlen werden Rücktritte, gewaltsame Auflösungen von Demonstrationen und ein Massaker mit hunderten Toten vermeldet. Für sein künstlerisch-erzieherisches Projekt, das ohne die Mitarbeit seiner Frau und der selbsterklärten „Vize-Präsidenten“ kaum denkbar wäre, bringt Botalatala viele Opfer. Dabei blitzt hinter seiner gesellschaftlich engagierten Kunst immer wieder sein männliches Künstlerego hervor. Auch ein „Abfallminister“ möchte Spuren hinterlassen.

Esther Buss

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Le ministre des poubelles
Land: Belgien, Frankreich
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: französisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 75 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Quentin Noirfalisse
Produktion: Maximilien Charlier, Laetitia Rodari
Kamera: Adrien Kaempf, Quentin Devillers
Schnitt: Marie Estelle Dieterle
Musik: Pierre Monongi Mopia, Daniel Dibwidi
Ton: Nicolas Kerjan
Buch: Quentin Noirfalisse
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.