DOK LEIPZIG 30 OCTOBER – 5 NOVEMBER 2017
60TH INTERNATIONAL LEIPZIG FESTIVAL FOR DOCUMENTARY AND ANIMATED FILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Still Alive


Still Alive




CATALOGUE TEXT
The rebellions in the Arab world were quickly wrapped with the blue ribbon of the “Arab Spring” – a simplifying bracket that sounds well, a verbal embrace that also suppresses all details. Pauline Beugnies’ film refers to Egypt, explicitly to the “Tahrir generation”. And it refers to the young woman who smiles into the camera at the beginning and has diagnosed a mental disorder in herself and her contemporaries: the great happiness of having been part of it combined with deep regret at having launched the movement.

But is it still alive, that spirit of departure of the early 2011 Egyptian revolution? Or has it adapted already, to the new circumstances, the limitations that quickly grew back, the mushrooming authorities? Beugnies talks to young people who may well be called “old revolutionaries”, even though hardly anyone among them is over 30. She confronts them with recordings of the people they were then – strange re-encounters with old identities they remember like lost friends. She lets them talk about the last years, about the children that were born, the disappointments and the wear and tear of life. But still: they sometimes talk as aggressively and exuberantly as they did in 2011.

Sylvia Görke

/

/
Credits
Original Title: Rester vivants
Country: Belgium
Year: 2017
Language: Arabic
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 110 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Pauline Beugnies
Producer: Laurence Buelens
Cinematographer: Pauline Beugnies, Hervé Verloes, Joan Roels
Editor: Pauline Piris Nury
Music: Grégory Vandamme
Sound: Marion Guénard, Laurence Buelens
Script: Pauline Beugnies
Graphic Design: Jean Forest
Contacts

Share this Film

The annotations to the films in the Official Selection were written by the members of the selection committee and guest authors. All quotes from DOK Leipzig 2017 catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author's name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

DOK LEIPZIG 30. OKTOBER – 5. NOVEMBER 2017
60. INTERNATIONALES LEIPZIGER FESTIVAL FÜR DOKUMENTAR- UND ANIMATIONSFILM
DOK Leipzig Film Festival

Still Alive


Still Alive




KATALOGTEXT
Schnell hatte man das blaue Band des Frühlings um die Aufstände in der arabischen Welt geschlungen. Eine vereinfachende Klammer mit wohlklingendem Namen, eine verbale Umarmung, die aber auch Feinheiten wegdrückte. Pauline Beugnies’ Film meint Ägypten, er meint ausdrücklich diese „Generation Tahrir“. Und er meint die junge Frau, die hier zu Beginn in die Kamera lächelt und sich und ihren Altersgenossen eine psychische Störung diagnostiziert: das große Glück, dabei gewesen zu sein, zusammen mit der tiefen Reue, die Bewegung losgetreten zu haben.

Aber lebt er noch, jener Aufbruchsgeist der ägyptischen Revolution von Anfang 2011? Oder hat er sich schon eingerichtet: in den neuen Verhältnissen, mit den schnell nachgewachsenen Begrenzungen, mit den wie Unkraut aus dem Boden schießenden Autoritäten? Beugnies spricht mit jungen Leuten, die man auch „Altrevolutionäre“ nennen könnte, selbst wenn kaum einer von ihnen die 30 überschritten haben dürfte. Sie konfrontiert sie mit Aufnahmen der Menschen, die sie damals waren – seltsame Wiederbegegnungen mit dem alten Ich, an das man sich erinnert wie an einen verlorenen Freund. Sie lässt sie von den letzten Jahren erzählen, von den Kindern, die geboren wurden, den Enttäuschungen und Abnutzungen. Aber immerhin: Sie sprechen, manchmal so angriffslustig und übersprudelnd wie 2011.

Sylvia Görke

/

/
Credits
Originaltitel: Rester vivants
Land: Belgien
Jahr: 2017
Sprache: arabisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 110 min.
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Pauline Beugnies
Produktion: Laurence Buelens
Kamera: Pauline Beugnies, Hervé Verloes, Joan Roels
Schnitt: Pauline Piris Nury
Musik: Grégory Vandamme
Ton: Marion Guénard, Laurence Buelens
Buch: Pauline Beugnies
Graphic Design: Jean Forest
KONTAKT

Share this Film

Die Annotationen zu den Filmen der Offiziellen Auswahl wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission sowie Gastautorinnen und -autoren geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig 2017 müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.